Title: Malware on a WordPress theme
Last modified: August 20, 2016

---

# Malware on a WordPress theme

 *  [delikasi](https://wordpress.org/support/users/delikasi/)
 * (@delikasi)
 * [13 years, 8 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/malware-on-a-wordpress-theme/)
 * Dear Friends,
 * Kindly help how to address this issue (see email from hosting company below).
   How do i resolve without messing up the existing theme? Is it safe to just delete
   the theme and install a fresh one? I’m worried I might mess up the site. Please
   help. Thanks.
 * Sincerely,
 * Jovel
 * —————————–
    Dear Jovel,
 * We have requested google to review your site and still Malware URL exist. We 
   have checked further and found the malware injection to your “NewsSpot” theme/
   template. You could verify here the sample injection./home/magicmel/public_html/
   blog/wp-content/themes/NewsSpot/index.php
 * Please change your theme and delete the entire files/folder under “NewsSpot” 
   theme.
 * Please get back to us when done.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 * Thank you.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

 *  Moderator [Jan Dembowski](https://wordpress.org/support/users/jdembowski/)
 * (@jdembowski)
 * Forum Moderator and Brute Squad
 * [13 years, 8 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/malware-on-a-wordpress-theme/#post-3093560)
 * >  How do i resolve without messing up the existing theme?
 * Where did you get that theme and can you share a link to your site?
 * The normal way to do it is get original copies of everything and give these links
   a good long read as you probably need to delouse your web server.
 * You need to start working your way through these resources:
    [http://codex.wordpress.org/FAQ_My_site_was_hacked](http://codex.wordpress.org/FAQ_My_site_was_hacked)
   [http://wordpress.org/support/topic/268083#post-1065779](http://wordpress.org/support/topic/268083#post-1065779)
   [http://smackdown.blogsblogsblogs.com/2008/06/24/how-to-completely-clean-your-hacked-wordpress-installation/](http://smackdown.blogsblogsblogs.com/2008/06/24/how-to-completely-clean-your-hacked-wordpress-installation/)
   [http://ottopress.com/2009/hacked-wordpress-backdoors/](http://ottopress.com/2009/hacked-wordpress-backdoors/)
 * Additional Resources:
    [http://sitecheck.sucuri.net/scanner/](http://sitecheck.sucuri.net/scanner/)
   [http://www.unmaskparasites.com/](http://www.unmaskparasites.com/) [http://blog.sucuri.net/2012/03/wordpress-understanding-its-true-vulnerability.html](http://blog.sucuri.net/2012/03/wordpress-understanding-its-true-vulnerability.html)
   [http://codex.wordpress.org/Hardening_WordPress](http://codex.wordpress.org/Hardening_WordPress)
   [http://www.studiopress.com/tips/wordpress-site-security.htm](http://www.studiopress.com/tips/wordpress-site-security.htm)
 *  Thread Starter [delikasi](https://wordpress.org/support/users/delikasi/)
 * (@delikasi)
 * [13 years, 8 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/malware-on-a-wordpress-theme/#post-3093570)
 * Thanks for the quick reply Jan. Below is the complete details of the incident.
 * Regards,
 * Jovel
 * ————————-
 * >  Dear Jovel,
   > We have received a complaint regarding magicmelt.com which has been compromised.
   > With this, we have temporarily suspended the hosting account. Please let us
   > know when you are ready to fix the site so we can unsuspend. Below is the report.
   > —————————————————————–
   >  —- Original message —-
   > > This is an automated email alert; please do not reply to this email as
   >  >
   > replies will not be answered. To get in contact with us, use the links > and
   > contact details, mentioned in the text below instead! > > ************************************************************************
   > > > TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: > > The security experts of cyscon GmbH like to
   > ask you to remove/review > the below mentioned file from/on your servers. At
   > least one of our > scanners detect it, and we consider it as malicious: > >########################################################################
   > > # begin logs > > IP: 67.215.234.180 > URL: [http://magicmelt.com/blog/](http://magicmelt.com/blog/)
   > > Port: 80 > Tested on: Sat, 29 Sep 2012 12:33:19 +0200 > Result: JS/Redirect.
   > CG > > # end logs > ########################################################################
   > > > Also, please check if your machine has been compromised and is now > being
   > used by intruders in malicious activities, or if a legitimate > user is engaged
   > in activity that is probably in violation of your > terms of service agreement.
   > In either case, please investigate this > matter. Further details on this project&
   > advisories may be found > here: [http://www.c-sirt.org/faq-section/](http://www.c-sirt.org/faq-section/)
   > > > The incident is already solved? Then just visit the following url and >
   > trigger a rescan of your file: > [http://www.c-sirt.org/incident/?incident=da11a27d14a5c0cca800f9255956eee5](http://www.c-sirt.org/incident/?incident=da11a27d14a5c0cca800f9255956eee5)
   > > When the problem is solved the field “Solved” will be set and the > color
   > changes to green. If this does not happen, a virus-scanner still > detects 
   > malicious content. > > You received this message because you are listed as 
   > the contact for > this network (AS# AS29761). This message is intended for 
   > the person > responsible for computer security at your site. If this is not
   > the > correct address, please forward this message to the appropriate party.
   > > > Please note: If more than one IP address at your site is involved, or >
   > malicious code/malware is detected in more than one file, you may/will > receive
   > more than one message, each one with different content. > Additionally you 
   > may found a X-ARF report attached to this document, > with all relevant details
   > for automated complaint parsing. Learn more > about X-ARF: [http://www.x-arf.org/specification.html](http://www.x-arf.org/specification.html)
   > > > We hope this important information regarding the security of your > customers/
   > clients content is/was useful/helpful for you. In case of > further questions,
   > of if you need any help in resolving this issue, > please feel free to contact
   > us at <sitesecurity@cyscon.de>. We, the > C-SIRT team of cyscon GmbH, will 
   > assist you in any questions regarding > this incident [SIRT#0001208564]. —————————————————————–
   > ########################################################################
   >  #
   > begin logs
   > IP: 67.215.234.180
   >  URL: [http://magicmelt.com/](http://magicmelt.com/) Port:
   > 80 Tested on: Sat, 29 Sep 2012 12:33:44 +0200 Result: Redirects.To.JS/Redirect.
   > CG
   > # end logs
   >  ########################################################################
 *  Moderator [Jan Dembowski](https://wordpress.org/support/users/jdembowski/)
 * (@jdembowski)
 * Forum Moderator and Brute Squad
 * [13 years, 8 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/malware-on-a-wordpress-theme/#post-3093573)
 * According to Sucuri SiteCheck, your site is black listed.
 * [http://sitecheck.sucuri.net/results/magicmelt.com](http://sitecheck.sucuri.net/results/magicmelt.com)
 * I suggest you start going through that reading list just in case.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

The topic ‘Malware on a WordPress theme’ is closed to new replies.

## Tags

 * [sql injection](https://wordpress.org/support/topic-tag/sql-injection/)

 * In: [Fixing WordPress](https://wordpress.org/support/forum/how-to-and-troubleshooting/)
 * 3 replies
 * 2 participants
 * Last reply from: [Jan Dembowski](https://wordpress.org/support/users/jdembowski/)
 * Last activity: [13 years, 8 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/malware-on-a-wordpress-theme/#post-3093573)
 * Status: not resolved

## Topics

### Topics with no replies

### Non-support topics

### Resolved topics

### Unresolved topics

### All topics
