Title: Suspicious Code in plugin files
Last modified: August 31, 2016

---

# Suspicious Code in plugin files

 *  Resolved [edtorrey](https://wordpress.org/support/users/edtorrey/)
 * (@edtorrey)
 * [10 years, 5 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/)
 * I use Wordfence security software to scan my site. Two MailPoet files showed 
   in today’s scan.
 * My MailPoet is Version 2.6.19.
 * Are these filenames valid for the plugin?
    Are the data valid that are shown 
   In the details provided below?
 * Details follow.
 * Summary of suspicious files:
    * File contains suspected malware URL: /home/hcwg/
   public_html/dev/wp-content/plugins/wysija-newsletters/helpers/back.php * File
   contains suspected malware URL: /home/hcwg/public_html/dev/wp-content/plugins/
   wysija-newsletters/add-ons/add-ons-list.php
 * Details for each follow:
    ********* first file ********* /home/hcwg/public_html/
   dev/wp-content/plugins/wysija-newsletters/helpers/back.php Filename: dev/wp-content/
   plugins/wysija-newsletters/helpers/back.php Bad URL: [http://clicky.me/wp-reviews](http://clicky.me/wp-reviews)
   File type: Not a core, theme or plugin file. Issue first detected: 1 hour 30 
   mins ago. Severity: Critical Status New This file contains a suspected malware
   URL listed on Google’s list of malware sites. Wordfence decodes base64 when scanning
   files so the URL may not be visible if you view this file. The URL is: [http://clicky.me/wp-reviews](http://clicky.me/wp-reviews)–
   More info available at Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.********* end first
   file ***** ********* second file ********* /home/hcwg/public_html/dev/wp-content/
   plugins/wysija-newsletters/add-ons/add-ons-list.php Filename: dev/wp-content/
   plugins/wysija-newsletters/add-ons/add-ons-list.php Bad URL: [http://clicky.me/woocommerce-autoresponder](http://clicky.me/woocommerce-autoresponder)
   File type: Not a core, theme or plugin file. Issue first detected: 1 hour 30 
   mins ago. Severity: Critical Status New This file contains a suspected malware
   URL listed on Google’s list of malware sites. Wordfence decodes base64 when scanning
   files so the URL may not be visible if you view this file. The URL is: [http://clicky.me/woocommerce-autoresponder](http://clicky.me/woocommerce-autoresponder)–
   More info available at Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page. ********* end second
   file *****
 * [https://wordpress.org/plugins/wysija-newsletters/](https://wordpress.org/plugins/wysija-newsletters/)

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

 *  [Wysija](https://wordpress.org/support/users/wysija/)
 * (@wysija)
 * [10 years, 5 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912244)
 * Please deactivate and delete your MailPoet and then install it again. Don’t worry,
   you won’t lose any data.
 *  Thread Starter [edtorrey](https://wordpress.org/support/users/edtorrey/)
 * (@edtorrey)
 * [10 years, 5 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912248)
 * The uninstall/reinstall did not clear the Wordfence Security alert for the web
   site address in your files that are listed by Google as a malware web site.
 * Marking permissions on the files to disable them causes your plugin to malfunction.
 * Please advise corrective action.
 *  [Thomas Blomberg](https://wordpress.org/support/users/thomasdk81/)
 * (@thomasdk81)
 * [10 years, 5 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912253)
 * Wordfence is marking the URL “[http://clicky.me/wp-reviews&#8221](http://clicky.me/wp-reviews&#8221);
   as bad.
    Therefore sending a “File contains suspected malware URL” notice.
 *  Thread Starter [edtorrey](https://wordpress.org/support/users/edtorrey/)
 * (@edtorrey)
 * [10 years, 5 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912322)
 * Thomas, thank you for the comment. I get what you’re saying and that’s what the
   scan notice says too. I fully understand the trigger and how it’s determined.
 * The question is to MailPoet authors – a site flagged by Google as malware is 
   included by MailPoet authors. Why? Now that you have the notice, what are you
   doing about it?
 * I don’t know the design of the code to edit it and neutralize the risk.
    Thus
   my inquiry.
 * Finally, in background, three times last fall another of my commercial sites 
   that needs to be open to global customers was hacked resulting in the hosting
   service shutting it down. Wordfence flagged the files similar to above, and we“
   trusted” the plugin provider. Turned out to be bad advice, as two more times 
   the site was affected.
 * Mailpoet designers, I want to trust your code, but a flagged entry, seemingly
   benign in relationship to what the code is otherwise needing to do, and thus 
   probably expendable, should be removed or replaced with values not flagged by
   Google.
 * Please advise
 *  Thread Starter [edtorrey](https://wordpress.org/support/users/edtorrey/)
 * (@edtorrey)
 * [10 years, 4 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912376)
 * Will there be any further information from you on this item?
 *  [Michael Douglass](https://wordpress.org/support/users/michael-douglass/)
 * (@michael-douglass)
 * [10 years, 4 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912378)
 * Hi,
    I potentially have the same issue, or at least similar. I have never had
   a problem with Mailpoet, however two days ago I made a change to the Mailpoet
   newsletter signup form on our site and our entire site went down. My site went
   down, and I could not log into the WordPress back-end, nor cpanel. My web domain
   host said that there was something suspicious in the Mailpoet plugin that caused
   it (or my site) to be firewalled. In order to get my site up again, they made
   an allowance in the firewall, however noted that this has reduced security, and
   they also mentioned something about visitors being locked out of the site. I 
   have now disabled the Mailpoet plugins (Mailpoet Newsletters and Mailpoet Newsletters
   Premium) hoping that the plugin will be fixed. I note it is not noted as being
   compatible with the latest wordpress or not, not sure if the issue resides there.
   Anyway I am worried about deleting and reinstalling the plugins in case it re-
   triggers my being locked out of the site entirely (www.bioag.com.au). Hope you
   can help. At the moment we have broken links pointing to our newsletter signup
   form, and are unable to send anything to our database of contacts. Regards Michael
 *  [Wysija](https://wordpress.org/support/users/wysija/)
 * (@wysija)
 * [10 years, 4 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912381)
 * [@edtorrey](https://wordpress.org/support/users/edtorrey/) that website is not
   present in our code. Your website was infected and then this malware infected
   MailPoet’s files. I suggest you run a Sucuri Site Check in your website: [https://sitecheck.sucuri.net/](https://sitecheck.sucuri.net/)

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

The topic ‘Suspicious Code in plugin files’ is closed to new replies.

 * ![](https://s.w.org/plugins/geopattern-icon/wysija-newsletters_ffddcc.svg)
 * [MailPoet Newsletters (Previous)](https://wordpress.org/plugins/wysija-newsletters/)
 * [Support Threads](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/wysija-newsletters/)
 * [Active Topics](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/wysija-newsletters/active/)
 * [Unresolved Topics](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/wysija-newsletters/unresolved/)
 * [Reviews](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/wysija-newsletters/reviews/)

 * 7 replies
 * 4 participants
 * Last reply from: [Wysija](https://wordpress.org/support/users/wysija/)
 * Last activity: [10 years, 4 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/suspicious-code-in-plugin-files/#post-6912381)
 * Status: resolved