Title: Comcast users cannot install plugin
Last modified: August 20, 2016

---

# Comcast users cannot install plugin

 *  [k2_1971](https://wordpress.org/support/users/k2_1971/)
 * (@k2_1971)
 * [13 years, 6 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/test-70/)
 * My dynamic IP address starts with 24.x.x.x – installed your plugin (version 4.0,
   WP 3.4.2), went to activate it and received this error:
 *     ```
       Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error.
   
       Reason code: sbl.spanhaus:153,2,24
       ip: 24.x.x.x
       ```
   
 * I x’ed out my current IP address for obvious reasons. So I went to the spamhaus
   website, discovered that the entire 24.0.0.0/12 block of IP addresses is listed
   in their PBL database. I’m unable to remove my address from that list, site would
   not allow it.
 * So I took a look at your code, and found this in stop-spammer-registrations.php…
 *     ```
       $iplist = array(
       'sbl.spamhaus' => '.sbl.spamhaus.org',
       'xbl.spamhaus' => '.xbl.spamhaus.org',
       'dsbl' => '.list.dsbl.org',
       'sorbs' => '.dnsbl.sorbs.net',
       'spamcop' => '.bl.spamcop.net',
       'ordb' => '.relays.ordb.org',
       'njabl' => '.dnsbl.njabl.org'
       ```
   
 * and I commented out each spam database site one by one. Every single spam site
   listed in your plugins array considers 24.0.0.0/12 as a spam source. That is 
   a significant number of comcast internet users. I would have to comment out that
   entire array list to be able to activate this plugin, and in doing so would defeat
   the purpose of said plugin.
 * Suggestions? 🙂

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

 *  Plugin Contributor [Keith P. Graham](https://wordpress.org/support/users/kpgraham/)
 * (@kpgraham)
 * [13 years, 6 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/test-70/#post-3233817)
 * Download the beta for 4.1 which is on my site: [http://www.blogseye.com](http://www.blogseye.com)
 * In the beta, I have already pulled back the activation check and now just post
   stern warnings the first time the settings page is accessed. I don’t want anyone
   to get locked out of their own blog, but some people will be able to change the
   settings and still have a useful plugin. If users ignore the warnings or never
   go into the settings they do so at their own risk.
 * As to why comcast should be blacklisted, I don’t know. I will look into this 
   and perhaps have a check box to not check spamhaus if it is a 22.xxx.xxx.xxx 
   subnet.
 * Keith
 *  Plugin Contributor [Keith P. Graham](https://wordpress.org/support/users/kpgraham/)
 * (@kpgraham)
 * [13 years, 6 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/test-70/#post-3233819)
 * I have disable dnsbl in then current beta version.
 * The subnets listed in the dnsbl sites are supposed to be their hosting sites,
   not their internet access ranges. So if you host a website with comcast it should
   probably be blocked as only programs will be accessing the internet. If you use
   comcast cable for browsing then it should not be blocked.
 * It appears that the distinction is blurred, at least at comcast. I will check
   further when I get to work on Monday, but for now the dnsbl is gone.
 * Keith
 *  Thread Starter [k2_1971](https://wordpress.org/support/users/k2_1971/)
 * (@k2_1971)
 * [13 years, 6 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/test-70/#post-3233826)
 * I don’t host my website through Comcast. I use Comcast for my home internet provider.
 * Here’s why all of Comcasts dynamic range IP address blocks are on spamhaus’s 
   PBL list (quote from spamhaus’s FAQ):
 * > The first thing to know is: THE PBL IS NOT A BLACKLIST. You are not listed 
   > for spamming or for anything you have done. The PBL is simply a list of all
   > of the world’s dynamic IP space, i.e: IP ranges normally assigned to ISP broadband
   > customers (DSL, DHCP, PPP, cable, dialup). It is perfectly normal for dynamic
   > IP addresses to be listed on the PBL. In fact all dynamic IP addresses in the
   > world should be on the PBL. Even static IPs which do not send mail should be
   > listed in the PBL.
 * And it appears all of the other spam sites that your plugin checks against have
   this same list in their database. But for whatever reason, whether it’s the spam
   sites or your script, these dynamic IP spaces are being viewed as a source of
   spam and subsequently being blocked. So that leads me to believe that this problem
   isn’t just for Comcast users, but for any well known ISP. You’re talking millions
   of users that could be affected.
 * As I stated in my initial post, I went through one by one commenting out each
   site in the array block, and every single site came back saying my IP address
   was blocked w/ the same error code (153,2,24).
 * I suggest having a real good look at what databases your plugin checks against–
   it’s possible you’re blocking a huge number of legitimate users along with the
   spam bots. Funny enough, my IP address did NOT show up at [http://www.StopForumSpam.com](http://www.StopForumSpam.com).
   Perhaps that site only blocks known spammers IP addresses and/or known IP spaces
   and doesnt list every well known ISP’s dynamic IP spaces.
 *  Plugin Contributor [Keith P. Graham](https://wordpress.org/support/users/kpgraham/)
 * (@kpgraham)
 * [13 years, 6 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/test-70/#post-3233827)
 * It can’t be blocking everyone. Very few ip addresses come back with a hit on 
   DNSBL sites. DNSBL is a spam black list service. I get many comments on my websites
   and only occasional complaints that I am blocking someone, and it is usually 
   because they are behaving like a spammer (public anonymous proxy users are the
   big problem).
 * My program does not check the PBL, only the SBL (Spammers) and XBL (threats) 
   lists at Spamhaus.
 * I am will continue working on this. DNSBL should be a good way to block spammers.
 * For now it is disabled in the beta.
 * Keith
 *  Plugin Contributor [Keith P. Graham](https://wordpress.org/support/users/kpgraham/)
 * (@kpgraham)
 * [13 years, 6 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/test-70/#post-3233834)
 * Found MASSIVE problems with DBSBL lookups. It was banning everyone with an IP
   that ends in 127.
 * It looks like I started writing the check and then forgot to finish it.
 * Please download the Beta Test at [http://www.blogseye.com](http://www.blogseye.com).
 * There is a check page on blogseye that allows you check against a few methods
   and databases to see if your IP is valid and it will give you a clue as to why
   an IP may have been denied.
 * Keith

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

The topic ‘Comcast users cannot install plugin’ is closed to new replies.

 * ![](https://ps.w.org/stop-spammer-registrations-plugin/assets/icon-256x256.png?
   rev=3377746)
 * [Stop Spammers Classic](https://wordpress.org/plugins/stop-spammer-registrations-plugin/)
 * [Frequently Asked Questions](https://wordpress.org/plugins/stop-spammer-registrations-plugin/#faq)
 * [Support Threads](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/stop-spammer-registrations-plugin/)
 * [Active Topics](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/stop-spammer-registrations-plugin/active/)
 * [Unresolved Topics](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/stop-spammer-registrations-plugin/unresolved/)
 * [Reviews](https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/stop-spammer-registrations-plugin/reviews/)

 * 5 replies
 * 2 participants
 * Last reply from: [Keith P. Graham](https://wordpress.org/support/users/kpgraham/)
 * Last activity: [13 years, 6 months ago](https://wordpress.org/support/topic/test-70/#post-3233834)
 * Status: not resolved