Yes it is, but injections that are performed from a PHP script, i.e., not if someone connects directly to your DB with its credentials.
Could you clarify some points:
1. Do you have the Duplicator plugin installed (or similar plugins that had critical vulnerabilities during the past few months)?
2. What did they change in the DB: post/page content, site options etc?
Hi,
Thanks for your quick reply!
I’ve noticed this injection during a malware scan, that found it in website’s DB:
Wamesjeoni
WamesjeoniQS
[email protected]
xxxx
viagra from the uk
viagra lavitra viagra
viagra 100mg
– viagra softabs
viagra uk buy
1
SUBMIT
No
39
5.164.203.239
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/67.0.3396.99 Safari/537.36 Kinza/4.8.2
https://www.xxx.com/en/contact/
05/05/2020
8:29 pm
Investigating further, I’ve found in Sucuri security plugin log file, the following entry:
20:29
system: Flamingo_contact status has been changed (details):
ID: 37913, Old status: new, New status: publish, Title: [email protected]
IP: 5.164.203.239
This entry is related to a plugin (called Flamingo), that is installed in this website.
So it seems that the injection came through this plugin…
I’ve checked for any recent vulnerability for this plugin, but I didn’t find anything.
I’ve contacted plugin’s developer to investigate further…
I’ve tried to lookup into webserver Apache’s log file, but I don’t find any connection from this IP address yesterday at 8:29 pm….
How did he succeded to inject the code into website’s DB?!
Thanks for any help
@robertojobet Please don’t post phone number, email addresses, or links when you post something like this. This is the 2nd one of these I’ve had to scrub today!
I don’t really see any issue with that. I’m not familiar with Flamingo, but its description page reads:
This plugin stores submission data collected through contact forms, which may include the submitters’ personal information, in the database on the server that hosts the website.
So what I see is that someone used your contact form to send spam, and Flamingo saved it to the DB. When scanning the DB, your plugin noticed the viagra-related keywords and links, and flagged them.
Did I miss something? Does your site look hacked or everything is as usual? Did you receive any alert or notification from NinjaFirewall?