• Hello there,

    Earlier today I received a malware warning from Avast! (And other users reported warnings from Google and AVG AntiVirus) at one of my friend’s websites: http://www.redprestige.com

    Avast! Said it was caused by l10n.js.

    Details
    URL: http://redprestige.com/wp-includes/js/l10n.js?ver
    Process: file://X:\Users\xxxx\AppData\Local\Goog…
    Infection: vbs:Malware-gen

    AVG Virus
    found JS/Agent
    X:\Users\xxxx\AppData\Local\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\vtb8pa3u.default\Cache\6\2E​\4FC60d01

    I hid the javascript file as per this website:
    http://kbeezie.com/view/removing-l10n-js/

    And the warning messages have stopped. Is this a known issue or has something infected my l10n.js file?

    Thanks.

    P.S. The WordPress version is old because when updated, the entire website crashed and we had to roll-back. I do not know what the problem was. I may attempt another update at some point.

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Thread Starter Sheza

    (@sheza)

    I think this is a false positive. I replaced it with the .dev script that wasn’t seen as a virus, and as soon as I re-named it it detected it as a virus.

    Thread Starter Sheza

    (@sheza)

    Bump? Nobody can help?

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

The topic ‘l10n.js malware warning’ is closed to new replies.