• Hi,

    I have this bot that keeps signing up for my mailing list.

    I’ve just installed Wordfence last night, it doesn’t seem to recognize the bot as anything but normal.

    The pattern is they go to homepage then /thank-you > since they get redirected after signing up.

    Different IP/host/email every time.

    Any advice on how to stop this bot with this pattern?

    Thank you!!

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Hi @sjulau,

    I came across another topic in which you mentioned your site being attacked by a bot.

    Is it the same issue you reported here?

    Thread Starter sjulau

    (@sjulau)

    hi @wfyann Thanks so much for checking, yes I found that thread after I posted here.

    I was able to block the user-agent string. It was working, but now I’m seeing in the Live Traffic that the bot “left homepage” and got blocked before getting redirected to the thank-you page – but how is it still getting on my site?

    It’s still signing up for my mailing list first and I’m not seeing the record of the homepage visit first –

    example below:

    (unless that is them on the bottom one coming in through a different browser and then switching? This is nuts!! lol IS it sneaking in through my blog post?? )

    France Paris, France left http://lauraslifecoaching.com/ and was blocked for UA/Referrer/IP Range not allowed at http://www.lauraslifecoaching.com/thank-you
    5/9/2017 11:55:32 PM (22 hours 32 mins ago) IP: 196.54.55.46 [block] Hostname: ip-46-55-54-196.fr.amsterdamresidential.com
    Browser: undefined
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:7.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/7.0.1

    Block this IP Block this network Run WHOIS on 196.54.55.46 See recent traffic

    France Paris, France left http://lauraslifecoaching.com/ and was blocked for UA/Referrer/IP Range not allowed at http://www.lauraslifecoaching.com/thank-you
    5/9/2017 11:55:31 PM (22 hours 32 mins ago) IP: 196.54.55.46 [block] Hostname: ip-46-55-54-196.fr.amsterdamresidential.com
    Browser: undefined
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:7.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/7.0.1
    Block this IP Block this network Run WHOIS on 196.54.55.46 See recent traffic

    France France visited http://lauraslifecoaching.com/getting-through-the-holidays/feed/
    5/9/2017 11:54:19 PM (22 hours 33 mins ago) IP: 217.182.132.173 [block] Hostname: hydrogen255.a.ahrefs.com
    Browser: undefined
    Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; AhrefsBot/5.2; +http://ahrefs.com/robot/)
    Block this IP Block this network Run WHOIS on 217.182.132.173 See recent traffic

    wfyann

    (@wfyann)

    Hi (@sjulau,

    Apologies for the delayed response.

    What is most likely happening is that your homepage is cached (either by a plugin installed on your WordPress site or a caching software installed at host level by your hosting provider).

    Therefore visitors are served the homepage without any php script being triggered hence that specific user-agent not being blocked until they submit the form.

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

The topic ‘Need to block a bot’ is closed to new replies.