Forum Replies Created

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Thread Starter WoodWrit

    (@woodwrit)

    What appeared to be happening on my website was really happening (in all my browsers)only on my computer which was infected by malware named Coupon Companion Plug-In, which I have successfully removed. My apologies again for jumping to conclusions regarding WordPress, and my thanks to WPyogi for coming to my assistance so quickly, thoroughly and effectively.

    Thread Starter WoodWrit

    (@woodwrit)

    I just went to my site tobilittledeer.com using Firefox. At first there was nothing on the word “antler,” then the hyperlink appeared on it. Clearly there is something in my computer affecting all my browsers. A window pops up (even though I have pop-ups blocked), advertising something called SmartShopping.com (Local.SmartShopping.com/Antivirus Protection). And of course, there’s a button for me to click, which I don’t. Alas, it looks like an infection. The final proof will be when I access my website using my other computer. I apologize for jumping to conclusions about WordPress. I have just started using WordPress, so I am a bit naïve as to its workings.

    Thread Starter WoodWrit

    (@woodwrit)

    Good, if you do not see the hyperlinks, then I trust that no one else does, either–and that was my chief concern. Right now they are showing up on everything I do, including the text I’m writing right now. As soon as I post it I will see a hyperlink on one of the words. I am using Windows 7 and Internet Explorer 10.

    Thread Starter WoodWrit

    (@woodwrit)

    Thank you WPyogi. That’s a relief to know it’s not coming from WordPress. Now I just have to figure out where it is coming from. I’m new at this. I have not added any plug-ins to my WordPress installation except what installed automatically with it. My hosting service employs fierce permission protocols, and I have strong antivirus protection on my computer.

    Thread Starter WoodWrit

    (@woodwrit)

    Let me add that my site is tobilittledeer.com, and the ad-hyperlink is attached to the word “antler” in the text. I notice also in my original post above that a similar hyperlink has attached itself to the word “attached.”

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)